Rebecca Whiting: Benefits of Pursuing Higher Education

RWRebecca Whiting, Goodwin College RN-To-BSN program alumna, 2014 valedictorian, and current clinic nurse for the Department of Surgery, Vascular, and Plastics at the UConn Health Center, shares her experience at Goodwin College:

“Since becoming a nurse over eight years ago, I’ve noticed an increase in the encouragement for nurses to obtain a BSN degree. There is ongoing research in the field as it pertains to the care patients receive from BSN-educated nurses as opposed to those with only associate degrees.

Furthermore, I feel our communities deserve to be cared for by nurses who have a well-rounded background in nursing and who have been educated not only on the clinical aspects of nursing, but also on the socio-economic, cultural, and business components of health care that one receives through BSN studies.

I became motivated to go back to school for my BSN when I saw fellow nurse co-workers pursuing higher degrees of education. I knew I wanted a career in nursing management or health care administration, which requires a BSN at the very minimum.

UConn Health is very encouraging of their nurses to pursue higher levels of education and I’m grateful to have worked with managers who were understanding and supportive while I was attending Goodwin.

Once I made up my mind to attend Goodwin, my motivation to achieve this goal became more personal. I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it and do it to the best of my ability. I pushed myself more than ever before.

Goodwin understands its community and knows that students need to continue to work while attending school. The RN-To-BSN courses are mostly online, so I was able to work full-time and still have time to focus on school.

The faculty members are caring, enthusiastic, smart, compassionate, competent mentors and leaders. They truly want students to succeed and it shows. Rosemary Hathaway, RN-To-BSN Program Director, is one of the most sincere and enthusiastic people I’ve met. The program truly made me a better nurse.

I used to wonder what else could I learn with a bachelor’s degree that I didn’t already know having been in the hospital setting for over five years. What a naïve thought! From my first course at Goodwin to the last, I learned how to be a more culturally competent, well-rounded, and enthusiastic nurse. I have a drive more so now than ever before to take part in making great changes in how health care is represented and delivered.

I currently work with nine physicians and four medical assistants. I see clients for preoperative education and wound care assessments and treatments. I oversee the medical assistants and am responsible for clinic flow and triage phone calls that come into the office daily from clients or other health care agencies.

I am starting master’s courses this fall. My BSN degree has been significant in continuing to my education, and it also elevated my desire to want to learn more, see more, and experience more.”

Posted on September 5, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congratulations Rebecca! Great work!! 🙂

  2. What a role model to others you are Rebecca! Congratulations to you, and thank your for inspiring others, like me, who are presently in Goodwin College’s BSN program.

Leave a Reply

