Adapting to Change in Unexpected Times

Senita Pinckney’s journey to Goodwin College was not an easy one. After being involved in a car accident leaving her with permanent damage, she was unable to continue with Goodwin’s nursing program so she forged a new path.

New Image

“I was in my senior year of the nursing program at Goodwin when I got into an accident. I couldn’t carry my body weight, which is a requirement of being a nurse,” Pinckney said.

After taking a year off to reassess her goals and identify a new career path, she came back to Goodwin to study Human Services with a newfound focus and determination.

Although Pinckney would no longer be working in a hospital setting, she would still be providing support and assistance to those in need. “I always knew I wanted to help people — now I help people in a different way,” Pinckney commented.

When Pinckney recently had knee surgery, her professors allowed her to listen in on classes through phone conferences so she wouldn’t fall behind. “They made sure I had all my assignments and everyone was so accommodating.”

Although Pinckney has had her share of life challenges, fitting in an education has always been manageable for her. She has been working at MetLife as a disability case manager for the past seven years while attending school. She also volunteers at Crossroads Community Church as a youth leader.

“I have never had a conflict of interest between work, school, and family. Goodwin has always been the perfect fit for me.”

An unexpected accident changed the direction of Pinckney’s future, but she ended up right where she is meant to be.

“The thing I find the most fulfilling about Human Services is knowing that one person really can make a difference.”

By: Hannah Stacy

Posted on April 7, 2014, in Student Spotlight. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow Senita,

    Your story was very inspirational to me. We all have obstacles to overcome and you are a great example of how faith and persistence can overcome anything. Good luck to you and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

