Connecticut River Academy Inducts First Members into National Honors Society; Social Studies Teacher Brings Home Award

EAST HARTFORD—Nine students make up the first class of the new National Honors Society chapter at Connecticut River Academy. Additionally, the magnet high school named its 2011-2012 Teacher of the Year.

The students were inducted during a ceremony held on Thursday, June 7. They represent the charter class for the high school, which opened on the Goodwin College River Campus in East Hartford in 2010 and features a curriculum based on environmental science.

The inducted members are all 11th graders and will be members of the first senior class for the Academy at the start of the next academic year, beginning in late August.

“Inducting our first group of students into Connecticut River Academy’s National Honor Society Chapter is an important first for our school,” Principal Linda Dadona said. “We are so proud of these students and what they have accomplished since CTRA opened two years ago.  We appreciate how hard these students work and all they contribute to our school on a daily basis.  We are looking forward to them doing great things, as a group, as well as individuals.”

The members are Nathaniel Austin and Tyesha Page, both of East Hartford; Teara Aris and Kenya Percy, both of Windsor; Kristen Alvarez and Tanika Griffin-Heaven, both of Hartford; Claudio Mejia Cano of Manchester; Elizabeth Edinger of East Hampton; and Adam Vargas of New Britain.

Chapter advisor Kelly Falvey said that students needed to maintain an overall “B” average to be considered for induction into the prestigious National Honors Society. The students also had to demonstrate excellence in the Society’s tenants of leadership, service, scholarship, and character.

Falvey Named Teacher of the Year

The National Honors Society students weren’t the only members of the school community to be recognized for achievement. Falvey, a social studies teacher at the Academy, was named the Teacher of the Year during a small reception held Wednesday, June 20.

Kelly Falvey, center with flowers, is the 2012 Connecticut River Academy Teacher of the Year. Pictured are Assistant Principal Tim Kessler, Principal Linda Dadona, Falvey, Goodwin College President Mark Scheinberg, Vice President for Community Relations and Advancement Todd Andrews, and Dean of Magnet Schools Alan Kramer.

Falvey was one of the first teachers hired at the Academy. Several of her teaching colleagues nominated her for the award, citing her leadership, student centered focus, optimism, and temperament among her many virtues.

As she accepted the award, Falvey thanked the Academy faculty and marveled at the positive growth that has taken place at the school within the first two years of its existence.

Goodwin College’s Connecticut River Academy will expand to four grades at the start of the 2012-13 academic year. The school accepts students from throughout the Greater Hartford area and beyond.


Posted on July 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: